Departmental Award: Academic Family Physician of the Year


This award recognizes one individual in the department who has demonstrated a sustained contribution to clinical practice, teaching, and scholarship.


Any faculty member within the Department of Family and Community Medicine who has been in academic family medicine for at least ten (10) years is eligible. 


The selection committee will consider the following criteria:

  • A broad-based clinical practice.

  • Sustained (i.e. more than five years) teaching of various levels of learners.

  • Contribution to scholarship in the discipline.


Nominations can be made by any faculty or staff member of the DFCM, including self- nomination. The nominations will be considered by the DFCM Central Awards Committee. The nominator is responsible for the collection and submission of the award nomination package and informing the nominee of their nomination.

Nominations for this DFCM Award of Excellence must include the following:

  1. Completed nomination form that includes the supporting signature of a teaching site Chief, DFCM Program Director, Division Head or Supervisor.
  2. Two letters of support indicating why this individual is being nominated in the selected category. Letters that are the most helpful address the criteria of the award and present evidence supporting the nominee’s excellence in this criterion.
  3. CV.
  4. Additional material documenting evidence of excellence may be submitted. A maximum of 3 additional documents can be added to the nomination. These may include letters of support, project proposals, educational materials, etc.


Please download the nomination form and include it in the nomination package:

  1.  DFCM Awards of Excellence Nomination Form_FINAL.docx

Please submit by email the completed nomination form and corresponding award application documentation in a single PDF file by April 15 (annually) to