Departmental Awards: Education Scholarship Excellence Awards

  1. New Clinician Educator Scholar
  2. Senior Clinician Educator Scholar
  3. New Education Scientist Scholar
  4. Senior Education Scientist Scholar


"Education Scholarship is an umbrella term which can encompass both research and innovation in health professions education. Quality in education scholarship is attained through work that is: peer-reviewed, publicly disseminated and provides a platform that others can build on."

The purpose of these awards is to acknowledge faculty who have made (an) outstanding contribution(s) to education scholarship and knowledge building in family medicine within the last three years. The contribution(s) are expected to exemplify innovation and impact and may encompass any aspect of family medicine education scholarship, including:

  1. Teaching (The search for innovative approaches and best practices to develop skills and disseminate knowledge)
  2. Integration (Synthesizing knowledge across disciplines, showing relationships, and interconnecting knowledge into concepts and structures)
  3. Application (Using knowledge to solve actual real-world problems)
  4. Discovery (The search for and/or production of new knowledge, information, and models, usually through research)


Anyone with a Department of Family and Community Medicine (DFCM) faculty appointment is eligible for nomination. There are four awards available each year, two in each category. Previous award winners cannot win the award again in the same category but a faculty member can be awarded both the New and Senior awards over time.

Note: For the New awards, the nominee must have held a DFCM faculty appointment not exceeding 60 months.


The selection committee will consider the following criteria:

  • Demonstration of an innovative contribution to the scholarship of teaching, integration, application or discovery in family medicine. Contributions may be in any program area including Undergraduate, Postgraduate, Graduate, Postdoctoral, Faculty Development and Continuing Medical Education
  • Education Innovations in the Scholarship of Teaching may include, but are not limited to, any of the following:
    • Curriculum and course development
    • Development of effective educational materials
    • Development of conceptual frameworks
    • Assessment and evaluation of curricula, learners, faculty and programs
    • Leadership
    • Mentorship
  • Education Innovations in the Scholarship of Integration, Application or Discovery may include but are not limited to, any of the following:
    • Original education research
    • Evidence syntheses/reviews of research within or across disciplines
    • Creation of original tools, education research methodologies
  • Evidence of Impact and/or Dissemination maybe in any of the following areas:
    • Grants
    • Presentations (lectures, posters, oral papers, workshops, seminars, symposia, panel discussions, web based, social media, dramatic presentations, etc.)
    • Publication in peer-reviewed journals or other peer-reviewed repositories
    • Book chapters etc.


One recipient will be selected for each of the following awards:

  1. New Clinician Educator Scholar
  2. Senior Clinician Educator Scholar
  3. New Education Scientist Scholar
  4. Senior Education Scientist Scholar


  • Nominations can be made by any faculty or staff member of the DFCM, including self-nomination
  • The nominations will be considered by the DFCM Central Awards Committee.
  • The nominator is responsible for all the collection and submission of the award nomination package and informing the nominee of their nomination.

Nominations for a DFCM Award of Excellence must include the following:

  • Indication of which of the above four awards the nominee is being considered for
  • Completed nomination form that includes the supporting signature of a teaching site Chief, DFCM Program Director, Division Head or Supervisor.
  • A letter describing how the nominee meets the above selection criteria along with evidence to support the impact of education scholarship (e.g. how it has changed practice, editorial recognitions, publications in high impact journals, citation indices such as h-index).
  • Optionally, supporting material such as testimonials or letters of support may be collected and submitted.
  • The nominee’s updated CV or resume


Nomination form: 

Please complete the form online or download the form and include it in the application submited:


Please submit by email the completed nomination form and corresponding award application documentation in a single PDF file by March 15, 2021 to:

DFCM Central Awards Committee
c/o: Danielle Dudycha, Faculty Development
Department of Family and Community Medicine, Temerty Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto
500 University Avenue, 5th Floor
Toronto, Ontario M5G 1V7