DFCM Awards of Excellence

The awards recognize outstanding work by our faculty and staff. They acknowledge individuals or groups whose contributions go well beyond what is expected in advancing the department's mission. Winners of any given award will not be considered for re-nomination in the same category for 5 years. Re-working and re-submission of unsuccessful nominations in subsequent years is encouraged. Self nomination is also encouraged.

Nomination Process:

Nominations can be made by any faculty or staff member of the DFCM; including self- nomination. The nominations will be considered by the DFCM Central Awards Committee. The nominator is responsible for the collection and submission of the award nomination package and informing the nominee of their nomination.

Nominations for a DFCM Award of Excellence must include the following:

  1. Completed nomination form that includes the supporting signature of a teaching site Chief, DFCM Program Director, Division Head or Supervisor.
  2. Two letters of support indicating why this individual is being nominated in the selected category. Letters that are the most helpful address the criteria of the award and present evidence supporting the nominee’s excellence in this criterion.
  3. CV.
  4. Additional material documenting evidence of excellence may be submitted.

Download the nomination form: DFCM Awards of Excellence Nominiation Form 2021.docx (122.87 KB)

Please submit by email the completed nomination form and corresponding award application documentation in a single PDF file by February 15, 2021 to dfcm.awards@utoronto.ca.

Academic Family Physician of the Year

This award recognizes one individual in the department who has demonstrated a sustained contribution to clinical practice, teaching, and scholarship.


Any faculty member who has been in academic family medicine for at least ten (10) years is eligible.

Selection Criteria

The selection committee will consider the following criteria:

  • A broad-based clinical practice.
  • Sustained (i.e. more than five years) teaching of various levels of learners.
  • Contribution to scholarship in the discipline.

Philip Ellison Excellence in Continuing Professional Development

This award recognizes a University of Toronto Department of Family and Community Medicine appointed faculty member who demonstrates excellence in continuing professional development.


Must be a Family Medicine physician and/or health profession educator, who holds an active faculty appointment in the Department of Family and Community Medicine.

Selection Criteria

The selection committee will consider the following criteria:

The awardee will be engaged in current medical and health care developments. They must have developed or plan to develop a new initiative, workshop, and/or activity in continuing education in the Department of Family and Community Medicine that demonstrates excellence in continuing education. Initiatives may pertain to any domain of Family Medicine, clinical, teaching and education, research and quality improvement.


$5,000 per award annually, with a maximum of two awards per year, if there are suitable awardees. Nominees will only be able to receive this award once. The award funding will be used to support the development of the new initiative.

Excellence in New Leadership

This award recognizes leadership within the Department of Family and Community Medicine.


Any individual within the department who has assumed a leadership role in administration, education, or research is eligible.

Selection Criteria

The selection committee will consider the following criteria:

  • New leadership (8 years or less) contribution to the administration of the central department, departmental division, or program.
  • Educational leadership
  • Leadership in research

Selection Categories

One award winner will be selected from each of the following categories:

  • Fully Affiliated Sites
  • Community Affiliated Sites
  • Community Sites
  • HPEs Fully Affiliated Sites
  • HPEs Community Affiliated Sites