Dec 1, 2023

DFCM family doctors celebrated at OCFP and CFPC awards

About DFCM, Education, Faculty, Faculty Development, MD Program, Quality and Innovation, Residency, The Office of Education Scholarship, Research
Congratulating our OCFP and CFPC Award Winners

DFCM family doctors are world leaders in teaching, research, and clinical care. Once again, this expertise is recognized with an exceptional performance in the annual Ontario College of Family Physicians (OCFP) and College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) awards.

An impressive 16 DFCM faculty and residents, plus a project team, were added to the OCFP and CFPC honour rolls this year – more than ever before.

Please join us in congratulating all the award recipients. The full lists are available on the OCFP and CFPC websites.


Regional Family Physicians of the Year

  • Dr. Farhan Asrar I Trillium Health Partners – Mississauga Hospital
  • Dr. Alison Culbert I Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Family Medicine Resident of the Year

  • Dr. Andrew Terence Lam

2023 Awards of Excellence

  • Dr. Fok-Han Leung I Unity Health Toronto - St. Michael's Hospital
  • Dr. Latif Murji I Scarborough Health Network
  • Dr. Warren Lewin I University Health Network - Toronto Western Hospital


Calvin L. Gutkin Family Medicine Ambassador Award

  • Dr. Francine L. Lemire | University Health Network - Toronto Western Hospital

Canadian Family Physician Best Original Research Article

  • Dr. Tara Kiran I Unity Health Toronto - St. Michael's Hospital

FAFM 2023 CFPC Continuing Professional Development Award

  • COVID-19 Community of Practice for Ontario Family Physicians Program | OCFP & DFCM

Outstanding Family Medicine Research Article Award

  • Dr. Sheryl M. Spithoff I Women’s College Hospital

Daniel Glazier Research Grant in Adolescent Mental Health and Substance Abuse

  • Dr. Nikki Bozinoff I CAMH

Janus Continuing Professional Development Grants

  • Dr. John Rizos I Trillium Health Partners - Credit Valley Hospital

Janus Research Grants

  • Dr. Sheryl M. Spithoff I Women’s College Hospital

Jim Ruderman Family Medicine Education Leadership Award

  • Dr. Cheri H. Bethune I Office-Based Physician (Iroquois Falls)

W. Victor Johnston Award

  • Dr. Anne Biringer I Sinai Health System

FAFM 2023 Family Medicine Resident Scholarship

  • Dr. Alis Qinyuan Xu I Royal Victoria Regional Health Centre

FAFM Family Medicine Resident Award for Scholarly Achievement

  • Dr. Sarah Wong I North York General Hospital
  • Dr. Faizal Raghavji I North York General Hospital