Sep 30, 2022

2022 DFCM Celebration Event: Recording now available

50th Anniversary, About DFCM, Divisions, Division of Palliative Care, Emergency Medicine Division, Certificate Programs, Education, Faculty, Faculty Development, Global Health and Social Accountability, Grad Studies & Fellowships, Graduate Degrees, MD Program, Quality and Innovation, Residency, The Office of Education Scholarship, Research
2022 DFCM Awards & Celebration Event - Recording now available!

Each year, the University of Toronto’s Department of Family and Community Medicine (DFCM) gathers to recognize and celebrate the successes and contributions of its dedicated community members. DFCM is a large, diverse department with members across different sites who work hard to advance the family medicine discipline.

Held on Sept. 20, 2022, this year’s event was once again virtual, with more than 130 faculty, staff and learners tuning in to celebrate new faculty members, junior and senior promotion recipients, and DFCM Program AwardDFCM Award of Excellence and external award winners.

Hosted by Drs. David White and Melanie Henry, the event highlighted the recipients of four awards, who spoke about their career paths and the future of family medicine:

  • Dr. Gill Kazevman, inaugural Bernard Fogel Award for Students in Family & Community Medicine
  • Ms. Lauren Scott, Ms. Jessica Bawden and Ms. Courtney May, DFCM Award of Excellence in Course/Program Development
  • Dr. Hasan Sheikh, Louise Nasmith Award
  • Dr. Karen Weyman, DFCM Award of Excellence, Academic Family Physician of the Year

This year, DFCM’s 13 senior promotion recipients were featured in a video in which they reflected on their accomplishments and expressed gratitude to their supporters:

  • Full Professors: Dr. Danielle Martin, Dr. Pauline Pariser, Dr. Brian Schwartz and Dr. William Sullivan
  • Associate Professors: Dr. Ahmed Al-Awamer, Dr. Lisa Del Giudice, Dr. Milena Forte, Dr. Charlie Guiang, Dr. Shelley McLeod, Dr. Allyson Merbaum, Dr. Aaron Orkin, Dr. Barry Pakes and Dr. Catherine Varner

“We will have chances to celebrate together in person but it’s wonderful tonight that so many people were able to join in this virtual space. Part of what keeps us going as a group, and as a community, is the opportunity to express gratitude for one another and for all of the great gifts that being part of DFCM brings to our lives,” said Dr. Martin as she welcomed guests to the event.

DFCM’s new Awards Team successfully led the event and committees for their inaugural year: Dr. Thea Weisdorf, Awards, Grants and Funds Lead, whose appointment was announced November 2021; Dr. Allyson Merbaum, Faculty Development Program Director, announced September 2021; and Ms. Madeleine Morassutti, Awards, Mentorship & Wellness Administrator, who joined the department in November 2021.

“Our DFCM Awards committee and staff did such a wonderful job with this year’s DFCM Awards and Celebration Event. It is amazing to see our department come together,” said Dr. Weisdorf about the event’s success. “Two and half years into the pandemic, we have a department that remains so supportive of each other and their communities. Thank you for being part of this special evening and recognizing your outstanding colleagues.”

To watch the recording, use the video player or click the button below. You can also view video timestamps.

Watch recording

2022 DFCM Awards & Celebration Night

Video timestamps




Welcome & Land Acknowledgement


Masters of Ceremony, Dr. Melanie Henry and Dr. David White


Chair’s Remarks, Dr. Danielle Martin


DFCM 50th Anniversary Report Announcement


New Faculty & Junior Promotions


DFCM Program Awards: Education Programs


Undergraduate Awards


Inaugural Bernard Fogel Award for Students in Family & Community Medicine, Dr. Gill Kazevman


Postgraduate Awards


Academic Fellowship & Graduate Studies (AFGS) Awards



Faculty Development Awards


Research Awards


Quality & Innovation Awards


Global Health & Social Accountability Awards


Emergency Medicine Awards


Physician Assistant Program Awards


DFCM Awards of Excellence


DFCM Award of Excellence in Course/Program Development, Ms. Lauren Scott, Ms. Jessica Bawden and Ms. Courtney May


Louise Nasmith Award, Dr. Hasan Sheikh


Academic Family Physician of the Year Award, Dr. Karen Weyman


Senior Promotions


External Awards


Closing Remarks